Letter from the Chairs of Organising and Scientific Committees

Dear Friends and Colleagues in Aged Care and related fields,

You are cordially invited to participate in the Tung Wah College 2020 Conference on an unique topic of “Transdisciplinary Model of Urban Aged Care” held at the end of October 2020 at the InnoCentre MICE Venue, Kowloon Tong, Hong Kong.

Aging population is a global phenomenon. In Hong Kong, it is estimated that nearly 25% of the population is aged 65 or above by 2026 and 31.1% in 2036. It is forecasted that there will be a great demand in medical and health services which will be a great burden to the society.

In response to the pressing need of Aged Care, the Hong Kong Government outlined her policy support for the establishment of a multi-professional approach to elderly residential and community care in the Policy Address 2017 and 2018. It aimed to provide outreach services for residents of private residential care homes for the elderly (RCHEs) and residential care homes for people with disabilities (RCHDs), as well as a community-based health services model ideally in a fully integrated inter-professional approach. In response, Tung Wah College organises this conference to achieve the following objectives:

The conference will be held on 30 and 31 October 2020 at the InnoCentre MICE Venue in Kowloon Tong, Hong Kong.

This conference is organised by Tung Wah College with the full support of the following organisations:

Hong Kong College of Community and Public Nurses
Hong Kong Housing Society
Hong Kong Institute of Occupational Therapy
Hong Kong Occupational Therapy Association
Hong Kong Physiotherapists’ Union
Hong Kong Physiotherapy Association

We are glad to inform that Tung Wah College has received funding support from the Professional Services Advancement Support Scheme (PASS) of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. Hence, participation of the Conference is totally free of charge.

We are looking forward to seeing you at the Conference.

Yours sincerely,

Professor Matthew Yau
Professor Lawrence T. Lam
Chair of the Organising Committee
Chair of the Scientific Committee